The lighthouse was originally built in 1826 to keep ships safe from the rocky shores of the nearby peninsula. Made entirely out of stone, it was in service for nearly 100 years before being decommissioned in 1925. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1979 and has been well-preserved ever since.
Only one wreck was ever recorded during its time of service – the “Poughkeepsie” crashed, leaving four or five sailors stranded. They sought shelter in the lighthouse, and the keeper, Nancy Rose, graciously let them in.
Visitors can enjoy the lighthouse’s elegant design and unique octagonal shape. Though the building itself is relatively small, the view from the top is quite breathtaking, providing a fantastic panorama of the Hudson River and its surrounding environs. Those living in Stony Point have a number of historic sights about their town to be proud of, and this lighthouse is a perfect example.